WOFAPS was founded on 15th October 1974 in Sao Paulo, Brazil during a Pediatric Surgery Congress with representatives from 43 Countries under the Presidency of Prof. Virgilio Carvalho Pinto and Secretary General Prof. Josa Pinus. Prof. Harvey Beardmore (Canada) was elected the first President of the WOFAPS.

Objectives of WOFAPS were

  • Promotion of a high standard of pediatric surgery
  • Encouragement of the ethical practice of pediatric surgery
  • Improve the standards of education for the training of pediatric surgeons
  • Promotion and encouragement of pediatric surgical research

The WOFAPS shall be representation of Pediatric Surgical Association, but not of individual persons and it does not represent any political ideas nor does it make any racial or religious distinction. (see the Constitution )

In 1983, only 23 Associations belonged to the WOFAPS, but the organization has made considerable strides since its inception and has grown to include over 100 member countries and is recognized and participates in International Associations of Pediatric Surgery and also other organization such as UNICEF, UNESCO, and WHO. This has been due to the strong leadership and efforts of the Presidents, Executive Board Members and especially the extraordinary hard work of General Secretary Treasurer Prof. J. Boix-Ochoa.

Past Presidents

  • H. Beardmore (Canada) 1975–1977
  • D. Pellerin (France) 1978–1980
  • R.K. Gandhi (India) 1981–1983
  • M. Bettex (Switzerland) 1984–1986
  • J.R. Pineyro (Argentina) 1987–1989
  • K. Ashcraft (U.S.A.) 1990–1992
  • W.A. Maier (Germany) 1993–1995
  • S. Cywes (South Africa) 1996–1998
  • J. Grosfeld (USA) 1999–2001
  • T. Miyano (Japan) 2002–2004
  • A. Coran (USA) 2005–2007
  • P. Puri (Ireland) 2008–2010
  • R. Azizkhan 2011-2013